top of page
Search

Let Go


Things that start beautifully in sunflower fields

End in rainy dark alleys at midnight, lips sealed

Love that is found in warm niches of sunlight

Is lost in cold moonless midnights

That's why looking at the things we must forego,

I say

If you love me, you'll let go.


A million hearts lose their beats

Screams sound that deafen silent streets

The stars grow dimmer with each passing day

As they die at dawn as the poets do–

Slowly and painlessly, in silent dismay

Looking at the things we must go through,

I say

If you love me, you'll let go.


Hope deludes, hope kills

Hope rebels like helpless teenagers without foresight

Hope blinds like floodlights

Faith ruins, faith dictates

Intellectuals with valid debates

Seeing as I want nothing to do with both;

Beloved, so I say,

If you love me, you'll let go.


Love lies, love stings

Of hot desires and broken wings

Bloodshot eyes, weeping eyes

Try to find life in lopsided smiles

Even broken hearts beat

And even lost souls make ends meet

I carry no desire for joining either

Thus I say,

If you love me, you'll let go.


Keep your lies, hand me that gun

Shooting blanks in the dark ain't fun

Wake up to darkness,

Look for the light;

Pick up the weapon and bring on the fight

Pull out your beloved poems of mine;

Don't stumble as you get the turpentine

I swear I'll kill you if your eyes get fazed

When you set those goddamned poems ablaze.




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page